2 Comments

3 days and counting…

We had such a fun Memorial Day. We took the kids to Central Park and packed a picnic lunch. The weather was perfect – mid 70s. Then we hopped in a cab and landed in Times Square. I thought there was going to be live music at noon from one of the Broadway shows, and maybe there was, somewhere, but we didn’t find it. However, we did find some crazy break dancers that gave a great show. Then we headed to Toys R Us for one last (yes, another last) ride on the the indoor ferris wheel.

Our downstairs neighbors (and landlord) threw us a party on Saturday. They invited everyone on the block along with a few others. We got to spend the afternoon with people know and love. Jack and Delores have been so kind to us. They never forget a birthday and are always happy to see our children come and go on the stoop. They have shared much joy and sadness regarding Ira’s journey. In fact, Delores came up to the hospital one time and said it was the first time she had ever been north of 90th street. That is saying a lot coming from one who was born and raised in Brooklyn.

I am feeling a bit pensive today. The service at church on Sunday was so special. Many people shared what Christ’s Church for Brooklyn meant to them and the impact I (and especially Joe) have had on their lives over the last 5 years. One can never tire of hearing that they are loved and appreciated.

Joe and I will go to Sophia’s school today for her “last day” celebration, although Thursday will actually be her last day. It just worked out for the party to be today. She is very excited to be the center of attention for a bit this afternoon.

Things are going smoothly with this pregnancy. I am now nine weeks away from meeting this new little one. I feel big and am definitely slowing down. I’m starting to avoid all situations requiring me to bend down for anything. In fact, last night my kids were sleeping on mattresses on the floor (Joe had taken apart their bunk beds earlier in the day) and instead of bending down for one last snuggle, I just blew them a kiss.

I have realized, once again, I am the slowest packer around. If it were up to me, we wouldn’t be ready to move out for another month. Thank goodness I’m married to one of the most organized people on the east coast.

That’s about all I’ve got for now…

2 comments on “3 days and counting…

  1. The packing thing… it’s in our genes!

  2. I can’t believe your new baby will be here so soon! And I wanted to tell you…now that we have a baby…and an EASY baby at that…it has become even MORE difficult to comprehend how you guys did it with Ira. It’s amazing how God provides what we need when we need it.

    Anyway- good luck with your big move!! Since I never visited you guys when I was in NY, perhaps I’ll find myself in St.L one day…and if I do- I promise I will make an attempt to meet your kiddos!

Leave a comment