4 Comments

season of lasts

With only 10 days left here in NYC, we are in the mindset of “lasts”; last time to do this or that, last time to see this or that person.

This past Sunday was my last time to fulfill two tasks that have become very important to me. The first task was to lead singing during worship. I can remember a couple years ago feeling the Spirit nudging me to step up and take on the role of ‘song leader’. I fought that nudging for a long time as I felt too raw from Ira’s situation and did not want to be leading in any fashion.

But, in time, I accepted this role and for the past two years I have been privileged to be in charge of planning and leading the songs during our worship time together at Christ’s Church for Brooklyn. Those at CCFB have been patient with my mess-ups and start-overs and have never complained about singing a particular song too often or not enough. I am grateful for the safe environment they provided for me to do something I love.

The second task I was able to fulfill was to lead the church in the meditation preceding communion. Taking the Lord’s Supper, or communion, together as a whole group on a weekly basis is an important part of our church tradition. However, in many churches of different types I would not have been able to fulfill this role. My gender or the fact that I have not been ordained could have kept me from being able to do what I did this past Sunday. I am so thankful to have been a part of two communities of faith, first at Manhattan Church of Christ, and then at CCFB, where I have been able to fully participate in these two ways.

I don’t know when I will be able to use my gifts again like this.

4 comments on “season of lasts

  1. I know that it will be missed, I pray that you will be able to fulfill your gifts again soon … both your singing and your lead in communion are beautiful.

    Love You
    Sue

  2. Hopefully, your gifts will be used again very soon. We can always just start our own church! Looking forward to seeing you and your family in St. Louis. you have lots to look forward to here!

  3. You could do both at Highland… 😉

    Praying for y’all this week.

  4. I know how you feel. I haven’t led singing or a communion meditation since we moved back to San Antonio, and I miss it. Seems kind of strange considering that I said no to Larry several times before deciding to listen to the Spirit.

Leave a comment