1 Comment

Three

My oh my. Where has the time gone? It seems like just yesterday we were packing up our apartment in Brooklyn and moving our little family to St. Louis. I was 8 months pregnant and needed to find a new OBGYN pronto.

I’ll never forget that July 21st three years ago. Opal arrived in record time after about 5 hours of intense natural labor (I’m still proud of myself for that).  And she was absolutely perfect.

And now, Opal, three years later, you are just so much fun. Yesterday we hosted a princess party in your honor. Complete with dress-ups, dancing, and a little “Pin the Tiara on Rapunzel” game. You couldn’t believe your friends brought you presents. In fact, you wanted to share your presents with all your guests so everyone would have something to open…that is until you actually opened them and saw your lute. Then you were content to just receive their kindness.

I’m 3!

We’ve been saying for a while now that when you turn 3 “NO MORE DIAPERS!” (since our first attempt at potty training was a complete failure.) Today, already, you have not had a good track record. Please hurry up and learn to poop on the potty or I’m going to be forced to buy some of those ridiculous rubber gloves my mom used to use for cleaning.

Opal June, I’m so thankful to be your mommy.

I love you, my little princess.

One comment on “Three

  1. Every time I check here and there’s a new post, I know I’m going to be delighted. Thanks, Laura. And Opal, happy bday! peace — Katie

Leave a Reply

